The Dreaded Baby Colic

This past few weeks, me and hubby had been having a hard time getting a good nights sleep because Adriana is keeping us awake and not in a good way. She’s been crying non stop for more than three hours at the exact same time, everyday. After so much sleepless nights and out of pity (tinge with a mild annoyance) for our little bub, hubby researched the reasons why a seemingly healthy baby tends to cry a lot without any discernible problem. And then he found it – Infant Colic.Β  (I swear, Google is now one of our holy grail!) There seems to be no cure for the said nuisance and what’s worst is that colic is also called three month colic because it usually lasts for three f*ckin months although there are cases wherein it can last for as long as 12 months. I know, tough luck. 😦

I am praying that my baby’s colic will be gone soon not only because me and hubby are missing out on our essential sleep (he sleeps for 5 to 6 hours, I sleep for 2 to 3 hours) but also because I pity Adriana so much when she cries non-stop.

I am still researching on cures for colic. Sadly, the only comfort cure that is being suggested is the 5S:

Swaddling (safe swaddling carefully avoiding overheating, covering the head, using bulky or loose blankets and allowing the hips to be flexed)

Side or stomach (holding a baby on the back is the only safe position for sleep, but it is the worst position for calming a fussy baby)

Shhh sound (making a strong shush sound near the baby’s ear or using a CD of womb sound/white noise)

Swinging the baby with tiny jiggly movements (no more than 1” back and forth) always supporting the head and neck

Sucking (Letting the baby suckle on the breast, your clean finger or a pacifier)

(source: Wikipedia)

I swear we’ve already done those things and so much more but unfortunately nothing seems to work. We are only left to see our baby crying non stop and finally sleeps when she got tired which will reduce any hard-hearted parents to tears.

So yeah, I guess we’ll just keep on praying and hoping that our little bundle of love and joy will be ok soon. I miss my daily doze of sleep already. 😦

About alenski

I am a new mom and I'll do everything for my little angel.
This entry was posted in colic, i am deeply in love with my princess, mommyhood, my whines are non-stop, on certain issues. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Dreaded Baby Colic

  1. Fia says:

    Hi Alen,

    Congrats again on Adriana! She’s such a cutie. πŸ™‚ I suggest that you put on music, preferrably classical soothing sounds, it will help her sleep and try not to panic when she cries while holding her. The baby picks up Mommy’s emotions too.

    Enjoy your little one, they are indeed God’s blessing to us!

    Take care and welcome to sleepless nights just for baby! πŸ™‚

    • alenski says:

      thanks fia πŸ™‚ instea of classic music, puro instrumental naman yung pinapatugtog namin, it helps a little πŸ™‚
      as for me panicking, nung una lang but as time goes by, i learn that its better to stay calm and composed pag karga sya although hindi nawawala ang paranoia hahaha. anyway thanks. laki na ng mga babies mo.. ay mga binata na pala hehe

  2. I help parents all the time with colicky babies. I would recommend taking your baby to a chiropractor that specializes in pediatrics. Chiropractic care for babies is very safe in many cases very helpful in relieving colic. It’s worth a try to help your baby and so that you and your husband can get some sleep!

    • alenski says:

      I never really heard about chiropractic care to ease baby colic until now. I did some googling and true enough, this might help my baby. I’ll consult my pedia about this. thanks for the suggestion πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

